Can Gluten-Free Food be Delicious?

I am here to tell you that yes it can be!  As of January 2nd I have been gluten-free.  Now you may be thinking, “whoa Christina, you have no idea what eating gluten-free is really like – it is only January 18th – sixteen days is nothing!”  However, this is my second go around with a gluten-free diet.  At one point in my life I had been gluten-free for 3 1/2 years and made the daily struggles that are involved in this lifestyle.  This first time I went gluten-free it was for allergy reasons – my doctors believed that I was allergic to gluten and had celiac’s disease like my sister.  I started seeing a new doctor who wanted to re-test me for allergies.  In the end, it was determined that I didn’t have any food allergies and in fact had been living with fibromyalgia all of my life. (You mean that shooting pain down my spine isn’t something that everyone feels on a daily basis?!?)

I rebelled in the most dramatic way from my previous way of eating.  Jet’s pizza became a weekly staple in our house as did pasta and anything else that I could find stuffed with gluten.  Until slowly, but surely, I started to feel pretty crappy.  I am convinced it has everything to do with what I eat.   Is it possible that I have a gluten sensitivity?  Wheat allergies run in my family along with my sister’s celiacs disease, so I started an experiment at the beginning of the year.  Fresh vegetables and organic food has always been important to me so now I am shifting the grains that I eat.

For those of you that are in this daily fight with me, or if you are just looking for a change in dinner, I have decided that once a week I will share a gluten-free recipe that I find delicious.  Today’s recipe happens to be what I had for dinner tonight.

Lime Shrimp Tacos

1 lb uncooked shrimp

2 tbsp olive oil

salt to taste

pepper to taste

garlic powder

red pepper flakes

(I use Simply Organic for all of my seasonings – they are safe and have great flavor)

1 fresh lime – quartered

1 red onion – sliced thinly

cilantro leaves – washed and chopped

1 tomato – chopped

1 avocado – sliced thinly

hot sauce to taste ( I used Tapatio)

100% corn tortillas

Place your sliced red onion in a bowl – using 1/4 of the lime, squeeze fresh lime juice over the onion slices – set aside for a quick pickling of the onion.  *This can be done earlier in the day if you like*

Heat olive oil in your pan, add shrimp and lightly season with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and red pepper flakes.  Cook until shrimp are pink and tails curve inside. Squeeze 1/4 of the lime over the shrimp.  Remove from heat and set aside.  With a clean pan ( I use a two burner griddle), heat tortillas until flexible without cracking.

Remove tails from shrimp and pile on the toppings of your choice. Squeeze on some fresh lime, eat and enjoy…YUM!

Are there any recipes that you are looking for?  Let me know and I will see if I have a good one to share.

P.S. Did you know that all of the jams from For the Love of June are gluten-free?!?

Leave a comment